Revolution in South Asia

An Internationalist Info Project

Archive for September 1st, 2008

Nepal: Pressing to Consolidate the New Government

Posted by n3wday on September 1, 2008

This article was published by Nepal News.

Peace process will be completed in six months: PM Dahal

Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal [Prachandra] has said that the ongoing peace process will be completed in next six months.

“The peace process will have to be completed within six months,” he said, adding that the government going to be formed by incorporating ministers from UML and other parties, Sunday, will work to create an environment ripe for total transformation in the country.

Speaking at a programme on economic development organized by Confederation of Nepali Industries (CNI), Sunday, PM Dahal said that majority of Nepalis people were looking up with high expectations. “There are few people who have some doubts as well on how this government will function and what will happen if this government, too, fails to deliver,” he said.

He said that doubts and suspicions among Nepalis people and international community regarding the new government must be addressed.
Read the rest of this entry »


Posted in Nepal News | 9 Comments »

Nepal: New ministers sworn in

Posted by n3wday on September 1, 2008

This article was published by Nepal News.

15 new ministers sworn in

Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal expanded the cabinet Sunday, inducting 15 more ministers. The new ministers were sworn-in this evening.

Of the 17 new ministers, six are from CPN (Maoist), six from CPN (UML) and one each from Janamorcha Nepal, CPN (United) and Sadbhawana Party. CPN (Marxist Leninist), which earlier had decided to join the government, opted out after it was denied its chosen portfolio – land reform.
Minister of Information and Communication Krishna Bahadur Mahara apologizing to the media following a boycott of the coverage of the oath-swearing ceremony of newly appointed ministers at the presidential palace by the media, Sunday, Aug 31 08. Media persons boycotted the coverage of the event after a lot of them were denied passes.
The six Maoist ministers appointed today are: Pampha Bhusal (general administration), Hisila Yami (tourism and civil aviation), Matrika Yadav (land reform), Gopal Kiranti (culture and state reconstruction) Janardan Sharma (peace and reconstruction) and Lekhraj Bhatta (labour and transport).
Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Nepal News | Leave a Comment »