Revolution in South Asia

An Internationalist Info Project

Maoists Declare Four New States in Nepal

Posted by Ka Frank on December 14, 2009

Tharu activists demonstrate for a separate state in the Terai

Nepal News, December 13, 2009

Maoist defiance continues, declares two more states

The Unified CPN (Maoist) on Sunday declared Seti-Mahakali and Tharuwan autonomous states. [The Tharus are Nepal’s fourth largest indigenous group.They occupy Nepal’s lowland region with nearly seven per cent of the population.]

Despite the national and international concerns over their move, the two autonomous states were declared as part of the former rebel party’s third round of protests and comes two days after the party declared Kochila and Limbuwan autonomous states in eastern Nepal.

The Maoists declared five districts in western Terai as Tharuwan autonomous state amidst a huge gathering of party cadres and supporters in Nepalgunj of Banke district. Maoist party secretary C.P Gajurel was among the senior party members who addressed the programme.

The Tharu ethnic community form the majority in the region. Similarly, the Maoists also declared Seti-Mahakali autonomous state – which comprises hilly districts of far-west – in Dhangadi of Kailali district. Maoist leader Lilamani Pokharel addressed the function attended by large number of Maoist activists and supporters.

On Saturday, Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal had said the Maoist decision to declare federal states would invite political confrontation and urged the Maoists to withdraw the decision if they wanted timely drafting of constitution.

Similarly, Tharu Kalyankarini Sabha (TKS), a semi-political organization working for the welfare of Tharu community,  has raised objection over declaration of federal states by the Unified CPN (Maoist). Issuing a statement on Saturday, TKS general secretary Raj Kumar Lekhi said the Maoists undermined the Constituent Assembly by declaring states, and without considering the concerns of indigenous communities.

A meeting of the Maoist central committee last week had decided to go ahead with its previously announced plan of declaring autonomous states. The Maoists had on Nov 25 unveiled its plan to declare 13 autonomous states based on ethnicity and region within Dec 11-18.

Various political parties have also expressed their objection to the Maoist move, saying that it undermines the supremacy as well as the significance of the Constituent Assembly (CA) itself.

One Response to “Maoists Declare Four New States in Nepal”

  1. Ka Frank said

    Nepal Maoist declare Bheri-Karnali and Bhote autonomous State (Telegraph News, Dec. 16)

    The Unified Maoists’ Party continuing with the unilateral declaration of Autonomous Federal States as a part of the ongoing agitation to restore civilian supremacy in the country, declared two more autonomous states, December 14, 2009.

    On Tuesday, the Maoists’ gave birth to the Autonomous States of Bheri-Karnali and Bhot.
    While Netra Bikram Chand alias Biplav, the Maoists’ party leader declared Bhot State in Simikot of Humla, Mr. Krishna Bahadur Mahara, the chief of the Maoists’ International Cell declared the State of Bheri-Karnali in Khalanga of Jumla district.

    The Maoists’ State of Bheri-Karnali comprise of the districts of Jumla, Kalikot, Jajarkot, Dailekh and Surkhet. Similarly, Bhot State is made of the districts of Humla and some portions of the districts of Gorkha, Manang, Dolpa, Mugu, Bajura and Darchula.

    Beginning December 11, 2009, the Maoists’ party has already declared 8 Autonomous Federal States. Many more remain in the pipeline.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: