Revolution in South Asia

An Internationalist Info Project

Archive for December 4th, 2010

India: Torture and Rape by Security Forces

Posted by Rosa Harris on December 4, 2010

The following article from The Hindu gives insight into the crimes being perpetrated by the Border Security Forces in India.

Villagers in Chhattisgarh accuse BSF of torture

A wreath of lesions coils up Sunita Tulavi neck; lesions she says were caused in the course of a three-day interrogation at a Border Security Force camp in Chhattisgarh’s Kanker district. “They blindfolded me, tied my hands and then electrocuted me with wires wrapped around my neck and stomach,” said Sunita, a resident of Aloor village, “They questioned me for three days and then released me. My sister is still in custody.”
On September 8, Kanker police arrested seven alleged Maoists, including six girls aged between 15 and 19 years, from the Pachangi and Aloor villages in connection with an August 29 ambush in Kanker in which three BSF soldiers and two policemen were killed.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in India Background, India News | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »